[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 6 points 6 days ago

I had a frustrating issue yesterday. I had removed drives, and forgot to edit my hardware config, so it kept failing to boot and would go into emergency mode, which I didn’t have an internet connection in so I couldn’t rebuild.

I ended up having to figure out which drive was missing in order to get it to boot (long story, I had to go through a stack of 4tb drives to find the right one).

How could I have fixed this issue had the drive not been available? Manually bringing up the network stack, I suppose?

[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 9 points 2 weeks ago

The pets, they’re eating them!

[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 7 points 2 months ago

Rusty, I’m a big fan.

[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 8 points 2 months ago* (last edited 2 months ago)

This wouldn’t be for a single customer. It’s 50 gig PON, which would serve 32-64 different customers. I’m not an engineer, but I’m assuming it will pave the way for 2.5-5 Gbps services.

Most companies are currently switching from GPON (2.5 gig shared 32 ways), to XGSPON (10 Gbps split between 32-64 customers).

The company I work for has been deploying XGSPON on Nokia transport for a few years now. It’s very nice.

Edit: I wasn’t real specific on how it’s split. So that 50 Gbps feed is sent down a single fiber to a splitter, which is often in the field in an AP cabinet. From there fiber that actually goes to the customer’s premise gets connected. It feels a little dirty splitting like some sort of old coax system, but it makes rolling out fiber to the home much, much quicker.

[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 36 points 2 months ago

If they could both just beat each other to death, that’d be great.

[-] Subdivide6857@midwest.social 22 points 3 months ago